I don’t want to grow up…

Today was the kind of day that flirted with surrealism. I got close to 8 hours of sleep, which is more than most nights expect, but woke up feeling like my bones were all mushy. My bed was cool, even my sheets seem to be missing my lover’s warmth. I did not want to get up, I did not want to face the day… not yet. Fifteen more minutes?

Fifteen minutes melted into an hour and my mother was screaming at me to wake up. Mustering all my strength I pulled myself out of bed and trudged downstairs. Today was the designated day for Me, Andrew, and my mother to speed walk down memory lane and sort through the last of our childhood belongings. Most of the things we went through hadn’t been touched or thought of in years. Most of it was also mine. I was in 7th grade when we moved, and not too happy about it either. Being uprooted and shipped half way across the country wasn’t exactly my idea of a good time. Clinging to any resemblance of the past I brought everything I was allowed to. I’m pretty much over that now. Despite my mother’s breaking heart I was more than willing to donate, sell, or trash most of it. Her children are growing up and nothing will ever be the same! Understandably tensions rose, we were all in a weird place.

Just as it seemed like we couldn’t handle anymore without crying, screaming, or killing each other, it was time to leave. My dentist appointment was a welcomed distraction. I had the great privilegeof getting a cavity filled today! (what luck!) I sat in the waiting room for, literally, 2 hours, reading my comic book and trying to (politely) avoid making awkward small talk with the other woman waiting. I failed pretty miserably. Yes, I am a student. Yes, I’m home for summer break. OSU studying Engineering. Time progressed at half speed while I was being interrogated by this stranger. Finally! It’s my turn! 45 minutes and a numb cheek later I am out of that soul trap.

My Momma offered me pizza dinner. I jumped on that. Root beer floats, a salad, and the veggie supreme from Olde Town Pizza, so good, even if I had to chew everything on the right side.

Now I am home. Watching the Olympics, eating potato chips, and struggling to stay awake! Life is good again!

Leave a comment